Tomorrow’s meeting..


We are hoping that tomorrow’s meeting will be going ahead but it can’t take place at the Weston Adventure Playground as the playground is currently out of action. If you would like to come along please contact us at adz143@yahoo.co.uk.

One thought on “Tomorrow’s meeting..

  1. Hi everybody,

    My name is James Burrow and I’ve just registered as a member of this group. I’m sorry I missed the meeting yesterday as I had just flown back to Heathrow from Africa and only found Carol Cunio’s email about the meeting after I had returned from the locked up Venny!

    However, I have lived in Woolston, Weston, Bursledon and now Sholing, all my life and have always loved Weston Shore. I’m 53 and can remember the old Seaweed Hut and the Sea Scouts hut and boatyard. This is the area I am interested in building a small cafe. My aim is to provide Weston Shore’s friends and visitors with a pleasant place for a hot drink on a cold, windy day, or a refreshing salad and juice on a hot summer’s day (if we ever get another one)!

    As a nature lover myself, I would want the cafe to be in keeping with its surroundings and as eco friendly as possible, with a grass/moss/sedum roof and inset solar panels for green electricity. Vertical wooden cladding, such as railway sleepers to match the wood used in the adjacent car park.

    I’m thinking of bi-folding doors across the front, facing the beach, opening onto a wooden deck. The main access, including disabled access would be at the side parallel to the coastal path. There could also be a natural looking sand area to the side for children to play. Definitely no gaudy, fluorescent signs or tacky advertising and no loud music! Just a peaceful, clean place to relax and enjoy some refreshments while watching the water.

    There are nice cafes at Lepe beach and Hamble, near the Warsash ferry, but sadly, Weston Shore has never had one. Just the noisy, diesel generator driven ice cream vans at the Netley end of the beach.

    Please let me know your feelings of support or concern and I’ll try to answer them for you.
    Sincerely,

    James Burrow

Leave a Reply

